Oregon's 13 FDIC-insured banks posted a net interest margin of 4.07% in Q2 2026, 20 basis points above the national benchmark of 3.87%, yet return on assets at 1.08% trailed the national average of 1.24% by 15 basis points. The profitability gap reflects an efficiency ratio of 67.33%, 4.22 percentage points above the national 63.11%, indicating higher operating costs per dollar of revenue despite a favorable margin. Oregon banks maintained a loan-to-deposit ratio of 79.79%, 2.31 percentage points above the national 77.48%, and held 23.65% of deposits in noninterest-bearing accounts versus 21.60% nationally, signaling a stronger funding mix. Asset growth at 2.22% lagged the national 5.17% pace by 2.95 percentage points; loan growth at 2.81% trailed national loan expansion of 6.16% by 3.35 percentage points. Credit quality showed elevated delinquency at 0.89% (18 basis points above national 0.71%) and nonperforming assets at 0.61% (9 basis points above national 0.52%), though Tier 1 capital at 15.47% provided a 1.21 percentage point cushion above the national 14.26%. Without prior-period data, quarter-over-quarter and year-over-year trend analysis is not available for this cohort.
Oregon Banks
OR Banks
Oregon Banks Report 4.07% NIM and 1.08% ROA in Q2 2026, Trailing National Profitability Benchmarks
Key Metrics
Return on Assets
1.08%
▲ YoYNet Interest Margin
4.07%
▲ YoYEfficiency Ratio
67.33%
▼ YoYAsset Growth (YoY)
2.22%
▲ YoYLoan Growth (YoY)
2.81%
▲ YoYDeposit Growth (YoY)
4.61%
▼ YoYDelinquency Rate
0.89%
▲ YoYNPA Ratio
0.61%
▲ YoYTier 1 Capital
15.47%
▼ YoYProfitability
Return on Assets (%)
Net Interest Margin (%)
Oregon banks reported return on assets of 1.08% in Q2 2026, 15 basis points below the national benchmark of 1.24%, and a net interest margin of 4.07%, 20 basis points above the national 3.87%. The profitability gap—positive margin, negative ROA—reflects an efficiency ratio of 67.33%, 4.22 percentage points above the national 63.11%, indicating that operating expenses consume a larger share of revenue than at peer institutions. Without prior-quarter or prior-year data, the trajectory of profitability metrics and whether the efficiency drag is widening or narrowing cannot be determined. The data does not include per-institution distribution, so the share of Oregon banks posting positive ROA is unknown.
The margin advantage at 4.07% versus national 3.87% suggests Oregon banks benefit from favorable asset yields or deposit costs, yet the efficiency ratio at 67.33% erodes that margin into below-benchmark ROA. The mechanical relationship: net interest income as a percentage of revenue is only 0.29%, 37 basis points below the national 0.66%, meaning noninterest income dominates the revenue mix, and noninterest expense as a share of total revenue is elevated. The cohort's 13 institutions likely include a higher proportion of fee-driven or mortgage-specialist charters; national data shows Mortgage specialists with efficiency ratios at 75.25%, 12.13 percentage points above the national 63.11%, consistent with Oregon's elevated efficiency figure. Loan growth at 2.81% and deposit growth at 4.61% suggest balance-sheet expansion is modest, limiting the ability to spread fixed costs over a growing revenue base.
The profitability gradient within Oregon's 13 banks is not disclosed, but the national specialization data shows a 1.53 percentage point ROA spread between Credit Card specialists at 2.29% and Mortgage specialists at 0.76%. Oregon's aggregate ROA at 1.08% sits closer to the Mortgage end of that spectrum, reinforcing the inference that the cohort includes institutions with higher operating intensity. If the efficiency ratio remains at 67.33% and revenue growth does not accelerate, the 15 basis point ROA gap versus national will persist absent cost-reduction initiatives.
Growth
Asset Growth (YoY %)
Loan Growth (YoY %)
Deposit Growth (YoY %)
Oregon banks posted asset growth of 2.22% in Q2 2026, 2.95 percentage points below the national benchmark of 5.17%, and loan growth of 2.81%, 3.35 percentage points below the national 6.16%. Deposit growth at 4.61% trailed the national 4.93% by 32 basis points. The data does not include prior-quarter or prior-year values, so whether growth is accelerating, decelerating, or stable cannot be determined. The cohort's 13 institutions are expanding balance sheets at roughly half the national pace, with loan origination lagging asset growth and deposit inflows slightly softer than the industry aggregate. Per-institution distribution data is not available, so the share of Oregon banks growing loans or assets is unknown.
The growth composition shows deposit expansion at 4.61% outpacing loan growth at 2.81%, mechanically compressing the loan-to-deposit ratio over time if sustained. Asset growth at 2.22% sits between loan and deposit growth, suggesting that non-loan assets (cash, securities, or other earning assets) are growing faster than loans, consistent with a cautious lending posture or limited loan demand. The 3.35 percentage point loan-growth gap versus national 6.16% is the widest of the three growth metrics, indicating that Oregon banks are not participating in the national lending expansion at the same rate. National specialization data shows Agricultural banks and Commercial banks driving the majority of loan growth; Oregon's cohort composition is not disclosed, but the slower loan pace suggests either a different specialization mix or regional demand constraints.
The growth gradient across FDIC asset bands is not available for Oregon's 13 institutions, but national data shows banks with under $100 million in assets and banks with $100 million to $1 billion in assets growing at different paces depending on specialization. Oregon's aggregate asset growth at 2.22% and loan growth at 2.81% are both positive, so the cohort is expanding, not contracting, but the pace is materially slower than the national aggregate. If loan growth continues to trail deposit growth by 1.80 percentage points (4.61% deposits minus 2.81% loans), the loan-to-deposit ratio will decline from its current 79.79%, improving liquidity but reducing interest-earning-asset intensity.
Risk & Capital
Delinquency Rate (%)
NPA Ratio (%)
Tier 1 Capital Ratio (%)
Oregon banks reported a delinquency rate of 0.89% in Q2 2026, 18 basis points above the national benchmark of 0.71%, and a nonperforming asset ratio of 0.61%, 9 basis points above the national 0.52%. Tier 1 capital stood at 15.47%, 1.21 percentage points above the national 14.26%, providing a meaningful cushion against credit deterioration. Without prior-quarter or prior-year data, the trajectory of credit quality—whether delinquency is rising, falling, or stable—cannot be assessed. The elevated delinquency and NPA ratios indicate modestly weaker credit quality than the national aggregate, though the capital buffer is robust. Per-institution distribution data is not available, so the range of delinquency rates among Oregon's 13 banks is unknown.
The delinquency rate at 0.89% sits 18 basis points above the national 0.71%, a 25% relative premium, suggesting that Oregon banks hold a higher concentration of past-due loans or operate in sectors with elevated credit stress. The nonperforming asset ratio at 0.61% is 9 basis points above national, consistent with the delinquency gap. Tier 1 capital at 15.47% exceeds the national 14.26% by 1.21 percentage points, indicating that Oregon banks maintain stronger regulatory capital ratios than the industry aggregate, likely reflecting a conservative balance-sheet posture or higher equity levels relative to risk-weighted assets. National specialization data shows Credit Card specialists with delinquency at 2.30%, 159 basis points above the national 0.71%, and Agricultural banks at 0.66%, 5 basis points below national; Oregon's 0.89% delinquency suggests a mix weighted toward higher-risk portfolios or regional economic factors not present in the national data.
The risk gradient within Oregon's 13 institutions is not disclosed, but the national data shows a delinquency spread from 0.43% at International specialists to 2.30% at Credit Card specialists, a 187 basis point range. Oregon's aggregate delinquency at 0.89% sits near the middle of that national spectrum, indicating moderate rather than severe credit stress. The Tier 1 capital cushion at 15.47% provides 1.21 percentage points of headroom above the national 14.26%, sufficient to absorb further credit deterioration if delinquency continues at its current level. If delinquency remains at 0.89% and the NPA ratio holds at 0.61%, the capital position remains sound, but any acceleration in past-due loans would narrow the capital cushion.
Liquidity & Funding
Loan-to-Deposit Ratio (%)
NIB Deposit Share (%)
Non-Interest Income / Revenue (%)
Oregon banks held a loan-to-deposit ratio of 79.79% in Q2 2026, 2.31 percentage points above the national benchmark of 77.48%, reflecting a moderately aggressive lending posture relative to deposit funding. The noninterest-bearing deposit share stood at 23.65%, 2.05 percentage points above the national 21.60%, indicating a deposit franchise with lower funding costs than the industry aggregate. Net interest income as a percentage of revenue registered 0.29%, however, 37 basis points below the national 0.66%, suggesting that despite favorable deposit mix and margin, noninterest revenue comprises a larger share of total revenue than at peer institutions. Without prior-quarter or prior-year data, directional trends in liquidity positioning and deposit franchise stability cannot be assessed.
Two ways to measure deposit franchise strength. The noninterest-bearing share at 23.65% is the cohort aggregate; individual bank distribution data is not available. The cohort figure is the honest number for aggregate funding cost, but does not reveal the range of NIB concentration among the 13 institutions. The loan-to-deposit ratio at 79.79% sits above the national 77.48%, mechanically driven by deposit growth at 4.61% trailing loan growth at 2.81% on an annualized basis—deposit inflows are not keeping pace with loan origination, tightening liquidity. Net interest income as a share of revenue at 0.29% is well below the national 0.66%, indicating that fee income, service charges, or other noninterest revenue streams account for the majority of operating revenue, a structural difference from the typical commercial-bank model where net interest income dominates.
Specialization context from the national data shows Mortgage specialists with efficiency ratios at 75.25% and Credit Card specialists with outsized NIM at 13.59%; Oregon's cohort aggregate does not break out specialization detail, but the low NII-to-revenue ratio and elevated efficiency ratio suggest the 13 institutions may include a higher concentration of fee-driven or mortgage-focused charters. The 2.31 percentage point loan-to-deposit gap above national is stable in the absence of prior-period data, but the 37 basis point shortfall in NII as a percentage of revenue flags a structural revenue-mix difference worth monitoring if prior-period data becomes available.
Strategic Implications
- • Methodology note: Oregon's 4.07% NIM sits 20 basis points above national 3.87%, yet ROA at 1.08% trails national 1.24% by 15 basis points; the efficiency ratio at 67.33% (4.22 percentage points above national 63.11%) is the driver of the profitability gap.
- • Watch next quarter: deposit growth at 4.61% outpaced loan growth at 2.81% by 1.80 percentage points in Q2 2026; if sustained, the loan-to-deposit ratio will decline from 79.79%, improving liquidity but reducing interest-earning-asset intensity and potentially compressing NIM.
- • Tier gradient: national specialization data shows Mortgage specialists with efficiency ratios at 75.25% and Credit Card specialists at 13.59% NIM; Oregon's elevated efficiency and low NII-to-revenue ratio suggest a higher concentration of fee-driven or mortgage-focused charters worth confirming with institution-level detail.
- • Forward indicator: delinquency at 0.89% (18 basis points above national 0.71%) and NPA at 0.61% (9 basis points above national 0.52%) signal modestly weaker credit quality, though Tier 1 capital at 15.47% provides a 1.21 percentage point cushion above national 14.26%.
- • Specialization: Oregon's asset growth at 2.22% and loan growth at 2.81% trail national 5.17% and 6.16% by 2.95 and 3.35 percentage points, respectively; the 13-institution cohort is not participating in the national lending expansion at the same rate, suggesting either regional demand constraints or a different specialization mix than the national aggregate.
How does your bank compare?
See where you stand against 4,200+ FDIC-insured banks nationwide.
Free instant access · No registration required
Notable Patterns
Specialization Anomalies
Mortgage specialists: Efficiency Ratio at 75.25% is 12.13 pp above national (63.11%)
Credit Card specialists: Net Interest Margin at 13.59% is 9.71 pp above national (3.87%)
Credit Card specialists: Efficiency Ratio at 54.40% is 8.71 pp below national (63.11%)
International specialists: Efficiency Ratio at 58.40% is 4.72 pp below national (63.11%)
Consumer specialists: Efficiency Ratio at 58.78% is 4.33 pp below national (63.11%)
Mission-Cohort Notes
222 Mutual savings institutions in the universe - customer-owned, structurally distinct from shareholder-owned commercial banks on capital discipline and deposit franchise.
170 CDFI-certified banks - mission lending to underserved communities; ROA expectations and credit risk profile diverge from commercial peers.
3809 FDIC Community Banks (90% of universe); the 419 non-CB institutions are distinctively wholesale or specialized.
How This Cohort Compares to National
Efficiency Ratio is 4.2pp above national
Loans (Annual) is 3.4pp below national
Asset (Annual) is 2.9pp below national
Loan-to-Deposit Ratio is 2.3pp above national
Noninterest-Bearing Deposit Share is 2.1pp above national